Best descriptive writing books   14 comments


This is a sample chapter from my new book ‘Writing with Stardust’. It is now available on amazon.com and amazon.uk. To see the book cover and read about it, just click the title:

Writing with Stardust

                                         

                                        DESCRIBING FEMALES

                                                     RED HAIR

 

LEVEL 1         LEVEL 2         LEVEL 3         LEVEL 4         LEVEL 5          OTHERS

mercury-red hair magma-red hair ruby-red hair solferino-red hair vermeil-red hair
molten-red hair lava-red hair rouge-red hair Titian-red hair vermilion-red hair

1. Her hair was mercury-red and it tumbled over her shoulders.

2. Her hair was magma-red and it crashed over her shoulders.

3. Her hair was rouge-red and it spiralled over her shoulders.

4. She had tresses of Titian-red and they plummeted over her shoulders.

5. She had swirls of vermilion-red and they cascaded over her shoulders.

                                                   BLACK HAIR

midnight-black hair kohl-black hair coral-black hair sable-black hair vulcanite-black hair
 ebony-black hair moon shadow-black hair cobalt-black hair maw-black hair obsidian-black hair

1. Her hair was midnight-black and it flowed over her shoulders.

2. Her hair was kohl-black and it plunged over her shoulders.

3. Her hair was coral-black and it toppled over her shoulders.

4. She had locks of sable-black and they surged over her shoulders.

5. She had tresses of obsidian-black and they swooped over her shoulders.

BLONDE HAIR

sunrise-gold hair moon gleam-gold hair star flame-gold hair ore-gold hair Arc-of-Covenant gold hair
sunset-gold moon glint-gold hair star beam-gold hair harp string-gold hair Valkyrie-gold hair

1. She had lush, sunrise-gold hair.

2. She had lavish, moon gleam-gold hair.

3. She had luscious, star flame-gold hair.

4. Her hair was ore-gold bright and luxurious.

5. Her hair was Arc-of-Covenant gold and luxuriant.

BROWN HAIR

locks of chestnut-brown hair wisps of auburn-brown tumbles of russet-brown swirls of caramel-brown hair skeins of copper-brown hair
coils of leaf-brown hair ringlets of tawny-brown hair tresses of mousy-brown hair spools of nougat-brown hair Restoration curls of   cinnamon-brown hair

1. Locks of chestnut-brown hair curtained her oval face.

2. Ringlets of tawny-brown hair veiled her heart shaped face.

3. Tresses of russet-brown hair shrouded her Slavic face.

4. Swirls of caramel-brown hair wreathed her moon shaped face.

5. Restoration curls of cinnamon-brown hair garlanded her angular face.

                                            COLOUR OF EYES

dreamy, bliss-blue eyes alluring, galaxy-blue eyes lambent, jade-green eyes dewy, mist valley-green eyes effervescent, champagne-brown   eyes
languorous, rapture-blue eyes enticing, constellation-blue eyes fulgent, beryl-green eyes nebulous, Eden-green eyes vivacious, virility-brown eyes

1. She had dreamy, bliss-blue eyes. They were globe round.

2. She had alluring, galaxy-blue eyes. They were orbit round.

3. She had lambent, jade-green eyes. They were pond round.

4. She had dewy, mist valley-green eyes. They were duck-pond round.

5. She had effervescent, champagne-brown eyes. They were dew-pond round.

LIPS    

puffy lips bee stung lips oxbow lips trout pout lips silicone enhanced lips
pouting lips heart shaped lips Cupid’s bow lips botox boosted collagen enhanced lips

1. She had puffy lips. They were kiss-inspiring and satin soft.

2. She had bee-stung lips. They were sugar plum sweet and silk soft.

3. She had Cupid’s bow lips. They were plummy, plump and suede soft.

4. She had trout pout lips. They were succulent, sultry and velvet soft.

5. She had silicone enhanced lips. They were sumptuous, sensuous and velour soft.

 

                                                        SWEET LIPS

honey sweet lips strawberry sweet lips sugar sweet lips cherry sweet lips nectar sweet lips
syrup sweet lips saccharine sweet lips sugar candy sweet lips melon sweet lips sherbet sweet lips

1. She had honey sweet lips. They were lilac soft.

2. She had saccharine sweet lips. They were blossom soft.

3. She had sugar sweet lips. They were butter soft.

4. She had cherry sweet lips. They were beeswax soft.

5. She had sherbet sweet lips. They were pillow soft.

 

                                                  PERSONALITY

a cheerful personality a bubbly personality an elegant personality a demure personality a winning  personality
a joyous personality a bouncy personality a ladylike personality a genteel personality an infectious personality

1. She had a cheerful character.

2. She had a bubbly outlook.

3. She had a ladylike temperament.

4. She had a genteel persona.

5. She had a winning disposition.

                                                  A SWEET VOICE

a soothing voice a sugary voice a nectarine voice a dulcet voice a melodious voice
a songbird sweet voice a syrup sweet voice a saccharine voice a dulcimer sweet voice a mellifluous voice

1. She had a songbird sweet voice and her hair blazed in the sun.

2. She had a syrup sweet voice and her hair flashed in the sun.

3. She had a nectarine voice and her hair glinted in the sun.

4. She had a dulcimer sweet voice and her hair gleamed in the sun’s rays.

5. She had a melodious voice and her opulent hair glittered in the beams of the sun.

                                                      CLOTHES

grungy vibrant chic voguish cosmopolitan
gothic kidult retro fluoro naff

1. She wore gothic clothes in a rebellious way.

2. She wore kidult clothes in an offbeat way.

3. She wore chic, shredded clothes in a mutinous way.

4. She wore fluoro clothes in a non-conforming way.

5. She wore bleached, naff clothes in an out of kilter fashion.

LEVEL 1: BASIC SENTENCES

1. She had a shapely figure. FIGURE

2. It was imp-thin. BODY

3. She was wasp-waisted. WAIST

4. She had glossy skin. COMPLEXION

5. She had slender eyebrows. EYEBROWS

6. Her eyelashes were velvety. EYELASHES

7. She had sea-nymph ears. EARS

8. She had a dainty nose. NOSE

9. She had shiny, halo-white teeth. TEETH

10. Her fingernails were varnished. FINGERNAILS

11. Her hair was molten-red. RED HAIR

12. Her hair was ebony-black. BLACK HAIR

13. Her hair was sunrise-gold. GOLD HAIR

14. She had coils of leaf-brown hair. BROWN HAIR

15. She had rapture-blue eyes. BLUE EYES

16. She had pouting lips. SHAPE OF LIPS

17. She had syrup-sweet lips. SWEET LIPS

18. She had a joyous personality. PERSONALITY

19. She had a soothing voice. SWEET VOICE

20. She wore grungy clothes. CLOTHES

 

                                        LEVEL 2: A BASIC PARAGRAPH

She had a sculpted figure which was twine-thin. Her waist was tapered and she had a burnished complexion. A pair of arched eyebrows looked down on sweeping eyelashes. Her delicate ears framed a button nose. A set of dazzling, angel-white teeth gleamed as she blew gently on her carmine-red fingernails. It was a pleasure to see her flowing, moon shadow-black hair. Her enticing, constellation-blue eyes gazed at me over her puffy, heart shaped lips. Her lips tasted strawberry sweet when I kissed her. She had a bouncy personality and a sugary voice, which I adored. Not content to be just another drone, she wore vibrant clothes.

LEVEL 3: CREATIVE PARAGRAPHS

I first met her on a holiday to an exotic country. The moons delicate light had just turned the world a-flame with silver when I saw her. She had a comely figure which was stem-thin. Her curvilinear waist didn’t surprise me as much as the saffron tint to her complexion. She must be a native, I thought to myself. Her crescent shaped eyebrows inclined slightly as she saw me staring at her. I yelped at being caught. Her languid eyelashes of velvet-black blinked once slowly, as if to invite me over.

When I came closer, I noticed her scrolled ears and her elegant nose. She nuzzled me with her nose and I couldn’t believe it. It was the custom for her people, I reckoned. It was love at first light. Her luminous, heavenly-white teeth flashed as she pawed at me with her film star nails. Her hair was a glorious tumble of star beam-gold and her virility-brown eyes set my heart a-thump. Her oxbow lips positively drooled with goodness. Oh! Those sugar candy-sweet lips, her elegant personality, all mesmerized me. She may not have had a saccharine voice or retro clothes, but what do you expect when two Labrador pups meet in a dog pound?

                       

                                        LEVEL 4: ADVANCED PARAGRAPHS

Her Amazonian figure sat well on her wafer-thin body. She had a decanter shaped waist and her complexion had an impeccable, ochrous hue. Her pencil-thin eyebrows eased down gently to her black, beetle’s-leg eyelashes. A sculptor could not have fashioned her seraph’s ears and pixie’s nose any better.

When she broke into a smile, her beguiling, oyster-white teeth lit up the room. It could jolt you like an electric current when that megawatt smile gave you her full attention. Filed to perfection, her Venus-red fingernails ran through her nougat-brown hair. Spools of it plunged around her photogenic face and hid a swan’s neck, elegant and smooth. I loved her nebulous, Eden-green eyes which were a-sparkle with the ‘joie de vivre’. They were like two beryl-green jewels melted onto snow.

Her calamine-pink lips tasted like rose petals. It surprised me that they were plump and botox-boosted as she had a demure, timorous personality. She whispered to me in a dulcet voice as sweet as any songbird. Her voguish clothes still kept captive an aroma redolent of cinnamon and meadow-fresh mint. It lingered in the room long after she had gone.

                 

 

 

 

bookcover

workbookcover

22114535_Cover Proof.4766065-page1

22164318_Cover Proof.4766065-page-001

14 responses to “Best descriptive writing books

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I got my copy and I spent about an hour an day, two or more when I’m off work, just drinking in the knowledge you have bestowed upon me. This book is really like writing with the god as it enhances my writing and making one feeling divine (see simile 🙂 ). I hope you come out with more volumes because I tell all my writing buddies about you book.

    • Thank you so much, Muhammed. Your opinion means a lot to me as you are the first person to comment on my book! I am thrilled you love it and I am currently working on a book that encourages students to think for themselves regarding descriptive writing/grammar/poetry and life skills. At the moment, I am working 8 hours a day at it and I hope to have it finished in January/February. It is specifically for 12/13 years old and I will follow it up with 2 more books for older children. I will email you a free copy when I am finished if you wish. By the way, is there any chance you could post that comment on Amazon for me? It would really help the book sales as I am not on Facebook or Twitter. In return, I will email you a sneak preview of my new book immediately. Thanks again for the gratifying comment and I will send you that email now.

      • I made a comment on Amazon just now. I would love to have a copy of your next book. It will be a great help to young writings that I will mentor in the future.

      • Thanks, Muhammed. As I said in the email to you, top man. I sent you the part of the book that has a formula for success for children. I hope you like it or I’ll have to rip it up and start again! Appreciate the fact you took the time to post your comment on Amazon. God bless all clever and good looking people! Cheers for now. Liam.

  2. I am a teacher of english literature as well as a writer myself. Have to tell you what younger doing is awesome…I would love to read more stuff from you.

    • Hi Shaili. I hope you are well. Thanks for the kind comment. I promise to keep uploading material for teachers/students and I’m thrilled you found the site so beneficial. At the moment I’m working on ‘Describing the Sea’ for the blog and it should be available in a few days. I hope that’s what you’re looking for. Thanks again and I wish you the best for the future. Liam.

  3. * you are doing

  4. Dude you are one awesome person……Your essays have fuelled literally all my English exams.
    You saved me a lot of trouble.
    You keep on talking about your book Writing with stardust….I would love to buy it. But i dont know where to find it. I am live in India please guide me.

    • Hi Guarav: Thanks very much for the complimentary post. I’m very glad that you found my essays helpful. Writing with Stardust is available on Amazon.com (America) and Amazon.co.uk. I priced it as low as I could as I am aware people have to pay postage on it. I hope you enjoy it immensely if you decide to buy it. Best of luck with your writing, Guarav, and thanks again for the cheerful comment. Liam.

  5. Hi Liam, your site is brilliant, really informative, im writing a book but struggle to find the right descriptive words but your posts have given me ideas! I’ve ordered your book ‘Writing with Stardust’ and im looking forward to it arriving! thanks again. Nina.

    • Hi Nina:
      How are you? It’s very gratifying to get a comment like this. I appreciate the gesture and I hope you go on to complete your book and that it sells millions! Keep the faith because we all know by now that writing is a lonely occupation. Best of luck and I hope you really enjoy ‘Writing with Stardust’. Thanks again and ‘bye for now. Liam.

  6. hello dear ,how are you ,i want to tell you Thanks so much for your books ,wish you success .please share me books for this email hayatothman@yamil.com

  7. Hello.

    I honestly don’t know how to thank you for making me feel better with descriptions of so many things that I have been struggling to write for years. I am in the process of completing my first novel but I’m still in the phase of editing the whole thing (grammar, words usage, vocabs, descriptive, etc) at the moment. For the record, I absolutely adore your writing, very very much and I am going to order your book as soon as possible. My lecturer has recently introduced me to your website and I have been visiting it ever since. But I prefer the old traditional methods of where I could spend hours and hours reading a book rather than on my computer so getting your book is definitely one of my goal now. You are just so brilliant!!! I would love to get advises from you with description types of writing.

    Regards,
    Nurul

  8. Hi Nurul: I hope you are well. Thank you very much for the nice comments. It’s great to see someone with such an appreciation of English and the power of descriptive language. Best of luck with your novel and I hope it goes really well for you. Email me at oflynn.liam42@gmail.com and I will send you my favourite chapter from ‘Writing with Stardust’ (Describing Autumn) and my favourite story (‘The Crime of the Ancient Mariner’). Cheers for now. Liam.

Leave a comment